It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:44 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:00 am 

Nice ♫♪ :wink:

Last edited by jesuspolly on Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:40 pm 

That's wonderful, thank you for that! The author hasn't found that amazing note she hits on 'There will never be a better time', which I think is a G on the bass clef - I'm no musician but tried to match it on the piano.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:24 pm 

While I think of it, the other thing that occurs to me as incredible is that this skinny frame can produce such a powerful voice. Normally you have to have a bit more mass about you for that. On 'Double Dare' we start with Mick Harvey's quite ordinary tenor, and then when PJ starts you have to take a step back. It's very striking. Her speaking voice is pleasant, but not especially resonant.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:55 pm 

I think the most impressive selection of low notes I've heard her sing is on I Think I'm A Mother at the Bizarre Festival. Sounds like a Russian bass ventriloquist is throwing notes from offstage!

I suspect it's her enormous range which gives her mid-range its quality - harmonics & sub-harmonics are available to her which she can use to convey differing emotions. I've heard more emotional range in one note of hers than some performers can manage in a whole career!
That's what I don't like about her latest incarnations. For me at any rate, she's lost a lot of subtlety & complexity.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:48 pm