It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 1:38 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:34 pm 

From the man who called 'Let England Shake' a masterpiece. Good blog too:

'Of course people wouldn’t have kept interviewing me if the book had been published a year or two earlier. I could never have imagined when I finished it, let alone started it, that 2011 would be a year of political upheaval to rank alongside 1968 or 1989, that Time’s person of the year would be “The Protester”, or that the most acclaimed album of the year would be PJ Harvey’s stunning song cycle about war and national identity. As an author I lucked out. As a citizen I was as concerned, bewildered and inspired as anyone else.'

[...]

'It is extraordinary that the most celebrated album of 2011 (and my own favourite) is also the best example of political songwriting in years. I said what I had to say about Let England Shake in a blog post and an Observer interview with Harvey but the moment that sticks with me is her performance of The Words That Maketh Murder at the Troxy on February 27. This was just as Gaddafi had threatened to take bloody revenge on the revolutionaries in Benghazi and the Libyan rebels were beseeching the UN to intervene. At that point the UN resolution was still a couple of weeks away and it was anyone’s guess how the uprising would end. And Harvey sang the line she took from Eddy Cochran, turning a goofy joke into a deadly serious question: “What if I take my problem to the United Nations?”